h1

Greedy Grab-Heads vs Mr. Cranky

December 26, 2012

From this blog’s FAQ:

Where’s all the free music downloads, dude?
During a brief period between creative projects, I used to upload albums to Kill Ugly Radio. People still land here as a result of searching for a download of a particular album. I always tried to make the posts pertain to difficult to find or out of print albums and things from my own collection. Sometimes I was successful in that light and sometimes not. I’ve gotten a few polite requests to remove them and more than one hostile response from copyright owners. To that end, I’ve taken most down. I also believe that artists that have endeavored to extricate themselves from the slimy tentacles of the record industry deserve our financial support. So, unless it’s some really old and out of print record that I’ve found or is in my collection, I won’t be posting any more full albums for download. Don’t ask me to re-up anything that’s on a label or is possibly in print or going to be in print. I don’t need the legal hassles and frankly grew tired of the greedy grabber mentality and lack of gratitude of the ‘sharity community’. It sucked a lot of time out of my life, my sense of good will (people complaining about me not posting a particular album or the quality of bit rate) and also in some cases it unintentionally sucked dimes out of the artist’s coffers.
I’m not doing it anymore. Sorry.

I wrote that a couple of years ago and I still feel that way. It’s a lot of work ripping and posting albums. Often, I’d get hundreds of downloads of a particularly popular album, only to get comments if someone didn’t  like the bitrate, hosting, etc. and more often than not, some posted albums wouldn’t get any comments until the download had expired.  It was like working in a soup kitchen with people complaining about the free soup. I imagine that’s someone’s idea of a good time, just not mine.

On that note,  I’ve re-uploaded an album that, for some  reason, has  gotten an insane (for this blog) number of hits. I’m not sure why. No one will tell me  and there won’t be any comments until the link has expired  (or someone doesn’t  like  the bitrate).

Sorry to be so cranky. I’m nursing a post-Xmas hangover and can feel my misanthropy returning with a vengeance.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 567 other followers

