The Misfits

October 16, 2006

Beware: The Complete Singles (77 – 82)
Destroy Fascism Records
(Germany – Bootleg)

A really nice little compilation that gathers all the early Misfits singles in one place.
It’s a little scratchy – sounding like everything comes from someone’s well-loved collection (plus some sloppy queing), and many of these tracks have been remastered elsewhere and released on quite a few legit comps, the best being the wonderful Static Age.
The earliest single, 1977’s Cough Cool B/W She – with Glenn Danzig on keyboards ala The Stranglers – sounds like it was cut on one of those old carnival make-your-own-record machines, but it’s an interesting glimpse of this band’s genesis. There’s some swell highlights represented by their subsequent singles and the Beware EP, terminating in the horrid Evillive EP, the band’s nadir, where they play faster and sloppier and the horrendous recording doesn’t help much.
It’s all redeemed by an outtake that was never released until long after the band called it quits, The Return of the Fly, and Last Caress (from Beware), the band’s finest song.

The Misfits and Halloween go together like candy-apples and razorblades.

Link and playlist in comments.



  1. Link:


    01. Cough cool
    02. She
    03. Bullet
    04. We are 138
    05. Attitude
    06. Hollywood Babylon
    07. Horror business
    08. Teenagers from Mars
    09. Children in heat
    10. Night of the living dead
    11. Where eagles dare
    12. Rat fink
    13. London dungeon
    14. Horror hotel
    15. Ghouls night out
    16. Halloween
    17. Halloween II
    18. 20 eyes (LIVE)
    19. Night of the living dead (LIVE)
    20. Astro zombies (LIVE)
    21. Horror business (LIVE)
    22. London dungeon (LIVE)
    23. All hell breaks loose (LIVE)
    24. We are 138 (LIVE)

    25. Return of the fly (studio outtake)
    26. Last caress (from “Beware” 12″)

  2. …Bonfires buring bright…

    …Little dead are soon in graves…


  3. awesome, thanks for this

  4. i like “evilive”, the rawness & bashed up quality & the “we pounded these guitars like jackhammers…” etc comments & henry rollins’ “vocals”! it was the first misfits i heard.

  5. not a bad comp, I actually have this one. between Collection 1 and 2 you have almost all of the songs, but the organ-only versions of She and Cough/Cool are great to hear, and the 7″ version of Night of The Living Dead is maybe my favorite misfits song.

    Funny part about this boot is the picture on the cover is of the “New Misfits” band from the late 90s.

  6. the picture on the cover is of the “New Misfits” band from the late 90s:
    Are you serious?
    I never noticed that. I always just assumed that it’s an old pic and that guy on the left is a pre-buff Glenn.
    That’s pretty funny!
    Thanks for the info, Mike!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: