h1

Jean-Yves Thibaudet

March 1, 2007

The Magic of Satie
Decca

thibaudet_satie.jpg

I know I said I wasn’t going to be sharing many whole albums. This one, however, dropped into my eager hands and I wanted to share it with you. I am a complete neophyte to classical music. I have at least a rudimentary understanding of some of its conventions and styles and know just enough to find that I tend to favor modern or 20th century composers.
I am slowly becoming acquainted with the works of Erik Satie – owing largely to his being named the father of ambient music.
Also, I rarely find anything of interest at my local Goodwill (thrift) store, but when I do, it’s either someone’s discarded folk/ethnic music or classical. So, imagine my delight at finding an Erik Satie CD when I have been curiously exploring his work as of late. Here his piano pieces are interpreted by Frenchman Jean-Yves Thibaudet, who – Wikipedia informs me – has also put out albums of Duke Ellington and others. I haven’t even had the chance to listen to it much yet, so enjoy.

Link and playlist below the fold


Download (megaupload)

Tracks:

1.gymnopedie no.1
2-8.gnossiennes
9.verset laique & somptueux
10.gymnopedie no.2.11.je te veux
12-14.jack in the box
15.the dreamy fish.
16.le “piccadilly”
17,the angora ox.
18.gymnopediue no.3
19-21.l’enfance de ko-quo
22-24.sonatine bureaucratique
25.la diva de l’empire
26-32.cinq grimaces pour”le songe d’une nuit d’ete”

One comment

  1. thanks, very nice interpretations



Leave a Reply

