h1

Negativland in Portland part Deux

March 11, 2007

Negativland at the Bagdad

Peter, Mark and Don

It was pretty damn cool. I’m a big fan of Over the Edge as well as a longtime Negativland fan, so this was doubly fun. I have seen them nearly every time they’ve been through Portland. This time around they have gotten away from the wackiness of their previous performances and simply create spontaneous audio collages with their various gadgetry and found sounds and music. It was – exactly as billed – a live radio show done on stage. I was pleasantly surprised to see how well the concept was received by the crowd, considering that there was very little in the way of visuals or traditional performing. I got to chat with each member briefly during the intermission and after the show, which was cool for me even if I was a nervous doofus. They are all really cool, down-to-earth guys. I also got to meet some of my favorite KBOO DJs while there. Luckily, the layout of the Bagdad really made it easy for me to stalk around with my camera and el-hugo telephoto lens, so I took a ton of pictures.

Here’s some of my snaps from the show.

And, as promised, here’s the simulcast from KBOO. Unfortunately, I didn’t take into account the real length of the show and its long intermission when programming AudioHijack on my Mac, so I missed the last 45 minutes or so. Sorry. If anybody out there managed to get it all, I’d sure like to hear it. I did leave all the KBOO IDs and color commentary intact to preserve the surreal, show-within-a-show feel.

Here it is:
It’s All In Your Head FM.mp3 (2 hrs. 3 mins. – 133 megs.)

2 comments

  1. Thanks for the Negativland live show! Much appreciated!
    Perhaps you’d like to exchange links?

    Cool blog!!!

    =H=


  2. Absolutely. I really dig your blog Carnival of Headaches.



Leave a Reply

