h1

Charles Bukowski (re-up)

March 23, 2007

I am re-upping my segmented rip of this album to help keep it alive and because Below the Rust has posted the excellent 70 Minutes in Hell album.
Hostage
Wordbeat
(Random-play friendly version)

buk_hostage.jpg

One of my most treasured possessions in my collection is my cd of the late, great Charles Bukowski’s Hostage.
Recorded at the height of his fame, both as a published poet and as a performer, this is a wonderful document of what a reading might of sounded like.
Here he spars with rowdy, drunken hecklers almost as often as he reads actual poetry.
Both are equally engaging and hilarious.
Here’s a snippet from the original liner notes:

In Los Angeles especially, his poetry readings became parties themselves, with “poet and audience both drunk.” As you’ll hear on this album, fans and poet come to these readings prepared to compete. “Is there anybody tough enough here to try me?” Bukowski taunts the crowd. “try some shit, do some anger.”

However, the CD – as originally issued by Wordbeat – had the entire performance as one long track, making random access or selection difficult. Perhaps they intended to reproduce the integrity of it’s original vinyl release (in 1980), but it made it hard to isolate a favorite track to – say – include on a mix for friends.
Here’s a version of that CD presented as segmented album, with each poem or tirade as a separate track. Where applicable, the tracks are named after the poem, or said tirade.

Tracks:

01 I Come from San Pedro
02 Jam
03 Cutulus
04 Indian Cigarettes, Pussy and Lepers
05 Trouble
06 Competition
07 The Secret of My Endurance
08 On the Hustle
09 I’ll be drinking when I bury you…
10 I Am a Reasonable Man
11 Eating the Father
12 Intermission Foop the Whales
13 Burning Time and Making Money
14 I Believe in Evil
15 Let’s go to work..
16 The Nine Horse
17 Respect
18 I Don’t Need a Cleopatra
19 Hemingway
20 Try some shit, do some anger…
21 Fan Letter
22 Tweak-fucked by the surfboarders of hell…
23 The Drunk With Little Legs
24 The good old days…
25 Tour
26 Losing My Mind
27 The Recess Bells of School
28 I am Humphrey Bogart…
29 Giving a Poetry Reading

Download

8 comments

  1. Thanks for the link and thanks for upping this!!!! Much appreciated!


  2. Thanks for yours!


  3. What a contrast in mood to 70 Minutes.
    Warm and humourous , great stuff.


  4. Thanks to both of you! Incidentially http://bukowski.net/ has high grade scans of lots original Buk manuscripts which for me is a great joy to look at 🙂


  5. hi there… i never heard the cabaret voltaire version, so you can upload it if you like… it’s the first time i’ve seen your blog and i really like it… i have added your link on my blog… mike


  6. NO UGLY UGLY, YOU MOVE?

    BUT GOOD YOU USED INDIAN CIGARETTES AND PUSSY I LOVE THAT, MAYBE I WILL MAKE A PIECE CALLED PERSIAN THOUGHT AND SAFFRON HAND FOR YOU


  7. Hello!

    I realize I’m coming to the party rather late, but any chance you’ll re-up your segmented version?

    Many thanks.


  8. Yes. Most likely.
    I don’t put much stuff up these days, but this one fits my criteria; out-of-print and a unique rip.



Leave a Reply

