h1

Bill Laswell, Otomo Yoshihide, Yoshigaki Yasuhiro (repost)

May 30, 2007

Soup

P-Vine Japan

Four lengthy, fairly dirgey jams from Laswell, Yoshihide and Yasuhiro. Otomo’s an amazing guitar player! Who knew? I always assumed he was more of a turntablist/manipulator, but as an axe-grinder he’s no slouch.
Sometimes the tunes take on a dub-like quality – a Laswell trait.
This sounds like music made while coming off of a bad acid trip in Yokohama, Tokyo or a sushi joint in New York.

Download:Right here

(5/29/07) This is a repost for someone who wandered into my old blogger incarnation – and a timely one, too. I just recently accidentally deleted everything from my iPod, which wouldn’t have been such a big deal if I didn’t have lots of stuff on it exclusively. This album is one that I thought perished forever (along with more than one un-backed up album*) until I remembered that I burned it onto a CD. Crap! – When do I EVER make CDs anymore? So, luckily for us, here it is.

*The others I’ve noticed so far (inasmuch as I miss them): Peter Hammill – Nadir’s Big Chance; The Orb – Auntie Aubrey’s Excursions Beyond the Call of Duty pt. 1, and lots and lots of single tracks.

3 comments

  1. Well I’m thankful you still have it. I’ve never been able to get this for one reason or another. Excellent post! Thanks!!!


  2. Thanks for this one. It’s interesting to know it.


  3. Great post, check out my new blog for some hard to find Laswell albums:
    http://musichertz.blogspot.com/



Leave a Reply

