h1

Curious Vid from Fripp and Summers

November 17, 2007

Circa 1982.
Girls dance around in what appear to be diapers and diaphanous coverings while two very serious guitarists play what sounds to these ears to be a variation of Rimsky-Korsakov’s “Flight of the Bumblebee”.

Andy Summers (from The Police) looks even more serious (to the point of looking cartoonish) than the always reserved Fripp, which is an accomplishment, of sorts.

This album eludes me to this day.

I am a huge Robert Fripp fan. This was in an era of fruitful collaborations with many others and probably near the end of his ‘popular music’ era, wherein he appeared to be seeking to establish some kind of mainstream beachhead with his various acts (King Crimson, League of Gentlemen, etc.). It’s apparent from this video that he has always had a unique idea of what was marketable or commercially viable. This is one of the reasons why I like Fripp’s music so much.

4 comments

  1. Those were the days.

    I don’t think the vid was Fripp’s idea, but rather some director that A&M hired who had no other idea of how to promote such apparently intransigent music.

    I was enough amused by the video that I looked for the link I had seen recently for the album, at
    http://www.mediafire.com/?f3h5oixxxez

    Sorry about the bitrate, I didn’t post it.

    Incidentally, the post I found it at was http://telhadosdomundo.blogspot.com/2007/10/andy-summers-robert-fripp-i-advance.html


  2. Yeah, I think you’re right.
    There’s another, goofier video from this album, too, as well as a video or two from the early eighties incarnation of King Crimson that are hilariously dated. Oh well. Who hasn’t got a picture or two of an embarrassing eighties moment? Mine was when my wife at the time insisted I wear a Miami Vice-type sports coat to a family reunion.
    Thanks for the linkies!
    I will check it out.


  3. But still I like it! Very tense and very monkeysmoke!


  4. No I can’t belive it, I think I have sold my copy of this album a few years ago!
    You don’t jave it do You?
    JYC



Leave a Reply

