h1

Music • Hertz

August 1, 2008

Cool, Bill Laswell and obscure electronica/esoterica related blog that is definitely worth checking out.

I was obsessively collecting Laswell projects for the last five or six years and it went into overdrive when I did the seven hour Laswell marathon in March, but this guy has stuff I had never even heard of before.

Especially recommended is Autonomous Zone – The Map Is Not The Territory, something I had not the slightest clue of.:

This ensembles name is taken from Hakim Bey’s T.A.Z. – The Temporary Autonomous Zone, Ontological Anarchy, Poetic Terrorism and the title is from an Alfred Korzybski quote…
(snip)
…This is similar to Hideo Yamaki’s Shadow Run with the added pleasure of the roaring saxophones of Brötzmann & Sakata as well as others.

If I ever saw it on some discog list, I probably thought it was the TAZ- Hakim Bey album (which continues to get play on my shows and I heartily recommend), rather than another fascinating project.

There’s also some cool Toshinori Kondo projects and even a smattering of cool, progressive Hip Hop.

I have a feeling this is going to be a blog to watch.

Check it out.

One comment

  1. Many thanks for the shout out.



Leave a Reply

