More on Friday Radio

After the big show, I went over for a little more than an hour, filling in for Outside World host Daniel.

It’s always a pleasure to do an unplanned, improvised show, hot on the heels of a meticulously planned show. I got to grab things of interest and play them without much regard for context or in terms of segue. As it was, pal Devin and I played Slavic punk and music we’d been talking about earlier in the evening.

I played Laibach, some Russian and Yugo punk, a big chunk of Balkan Beat Box’s first album, some Yugo Jazz, some Bonfire Madigan, Joanna Newsome, Mountain Goats and some National Lampoon Radio Hour.

I also had the pleasure of interviewing a band who showed up spontaneously and wanted to talk about an upcoming show and their new album.

The band was NIAYH (Now Is All You Have), a pretty cool Funk/Soul-ish rock group.

I had never interviewed anyone, so although I was an awkward doofus, it went well and we had a fun time.

Here’s the show:

Part one [50 mins. 69.4 megs @ 192kbps]

Part two (w/interview) [13 mins., 18.9 megs @ 192kbps]

1 Comment

  1. Don’t sweat it pally, you have allways been an awkward dufus. It’s part of your charm. After knowing each other for so long, I have to say, it rather strange hearing your voice on the internets. Sadly, I have to confess I have been unable to liten to a live show. You go girl!

Leave a comment