h1

Damn I’m Happy

November 5, 2008

I’m not going to do very good at writing – heck, I’m lucky I can find the keyboard! – and I’m tired as hell. But I’m still giddy from last night. I have a happiness hangover. That and a champagne (and a snagged cigarette – don’t tell the Missus) hangover. And a raspy throat from hooting like a moron on Burnside at passing cars. Mainly the champagne, though…

The partying in the street was pretty amazing. It was like New Years Eve, the Fourth of July and the end of Return of the Jedi all rolled in one.

Me and a pal walked around recording people’s reactions and interviewed a few people.

Even watching this in the KBOO Newsroom with a bunch of (like me) jaded uber-left types, the atmosphere was one of happiness and excitement. My favorite moment was the absolute giddy glee of DJ Jamilah, who was practically falling down in her joy at seeing an African American man elected President.

This gives me hope for this country’s future. It’ll be an uphill battle, to be sure, but this at least gives us hope.

More later. Need sleep.

One comment

  1. I hear you. I can barely string two thoughts together. I’m more excited and hopeful than I have been in a long time.



Leave a Reply

