h1

Music for Dreaming Androids

December 17, 2008

doandroidsdreamsignet1969A few months ago, I was pressed to fill in at the last minute for someone from the hours of 3am to 6am.

I hadn’t prepared anything, but concocted a show around the audio book of Philip K. Dick’s Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep. This is perhaps my favorite PKD novel. It took me a long time, but I can now easily enjoy this novel as a completely separate work from Blade Runner, my favorite movie. I would love to someday see this novel get a movie treatment that followed the plot and tone of the book to the degree that Linklater’s A Scanner Darkly did the novel it came from.

The audio book, with readings my Matthew Modine and Calista Flockart isn’t too bad.

I mixed it with drone-y ambient music (much of it the work of Bill Laswell and Mick Harris, with a smattering of LaibachKunstDerFuge) and audio clips about Philip K. Dick and other surprises.

my intent was to create something that both insomniacs and dreamers alike could enjoy.

Rather than stitch the whole show together (It is three hours long), I thought I would serialize it here, as long as folks are interested.

Download Part one

5 comments

  1. I agree with you on Blade Runner, also my favorite movie, but it would be great to see a “real” Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep movie. I can’t wait to listen to the show. I’ve heard the Audiobook, so it’ll be great to listen to it backed by your picks.


  2. URL’s not legit.


    • ARGH!
      You’re right, Mr. Villain!
      Damn post editor broke my link!
      Try it now.


  3. […] For Dreaming Androids (Complete show) December 27, 2008 Here’s the complete show I posted an excerpt of a few days ago. Its the show I built around the audiobook for Philip K. Dick’s Do Androids Dream of Electric […]


  4. Sound like a good idea I look forward to hearing this. Thanks



Leave a Reply

