h1

When a DJ asks for a strange record…

January 2, 2009

…weird things happen.

A pal put out an APB for a strange record by Freddie Hubbard and Turkish Musique concrète artist İlhan Mimaroğlu (of course, strange music collector extraordinaire Rolf Semprebon had it!) and here’s the disjointed path my own search took me on. It’s a bit like one of those Family Circus one-panels where mom asks Little Billy to go next door to the neighbor’s to borrow a handgun, and he traces a path all around the town raising hell everywhere (remember that one?).
I found this DJ forum thread entitled what`s the most mind-blowingly weird record you`ve ever heard? Check it out. It’s all over the place and perhaps some links are still active.
Then I found a nice thread on a blog I’ve never run across before called Vinyl for Giants. Lots of interesting albums. Links active? I don’t know. That’s part of the fun.
I finally found the album in question at Rainbow Over Curved Air (why I didn’t start there was beyond me). Here it is.

I expect field reports.

One comment

  1. Uh-oh. This always ends with me adding a bunch of new RSS feeds. I love searches. It’s more fun than digging through dusty CD bins (the chance of success is also greater). There’s nothing like that feeling of discovery. Thank you internet!



Leave a Reply

