h1

Show from 6/25/09

June 26, 2009

Yep. The King of Pop is no more. The news hit mere minutes before my show, after hours of rumors of his passing, his miraculous return from death and then back to being dead again. The collective consciousness of Twitter had it right before the traditional media, after all.
But, hard to believe for me as it is, I ended up playing some Michael Jackson un-ironically.
You couldn’t have grown up in the seventies and not heard some of The Jackson Five. I used to watch their cartoon as a kid and found playing tracks from them kind of sad. Michael was a complicated guy. He probably never had a change to be a child when he was young. I have a funny feeling that history will be kinder to him now.

The rest of the show? I played some Material, some guitar-driven rock by Sonny Sharrock, Eugene Chadbourne and MX-80 Sound. I played some funky Marc Ribot, some Soviet-era Russian funk and disco and a big chunk of Frank Zappa playing The Grand Wazoo live.

I think I’m going to stop posting a detailed playlist. It’s too labor-intensive and really, you could listen to my back-announcing.

Play

Download (2 hrs., 3 mins. 169.1 megs. @ 192kbps)

Leave a Reply

