h1

The Other 80’s

December 10, 2009

This afternoon from 5pm to 7pm [PST] on KOUG

A totally nostalgic romp for me, and perhaps a tad self-indulgent.
An homage to the music that got me hooked on strange music in the first place, via somewhat innocuous “New Wave”.
This was what I was listening to between 1979 and 1982 or so.

This is my personal ‘hit parade’ of the so-called New Wave era. Admittedly, not all the songs are great, but they are ones that I’ve developed a fondness for.

Fun show. More listeners than usual with lots of really nice comments. I sure appreciate my listeners! I also managed a pretty cool mashup  live-on-the -fly about 3/4’s of the way through the show!

Play

Download

Playlist:

(Artist – Track – Album)
Godley and Creme – Freeze Frame – Freeze Frame
Morgan Fisher – Green and Pleasant – Miniatures
David Bowie – Starman – Ziggy Stardust
Brian Eno – Baby’s On Fire/Paw Paw Negro Blowtorch – Here Come the Warm Jets
Public Image Limited – Pied Piper – Machines (Compilation)
Hawaiian Pups – Baby Judy – Split Second Precision
Silicon Teens – Memphis Tennessee – Machines
Lene Lovich – I Think We’re Alone Now – Stateless
The Fabulous Poodles – Mirror Star – Fabulous Poodles
Fad Gadget – Ricky’s Hand – Machines
Gleaming Spires – Going Hey, Hey – Songs of the Spires
Robert Fripp – Disengage – Exposure
Karel Fialka – The Eyes Have It – Machines
The Human League – Being Boiled – Machines
Fred Frith – Dancing in the Streets – Best of Ralph
R.Fripp/A. Partridge/Phantom Captain – Miniatures
Laurie Anderson – Sharkey’s Night – Mister Heartbreak
The Normal – TVOD – TVOD/Warm Leatherette 7″
The The – This Is the Day – This Is the Day
Midnight Oil – Tin Legs and Tin Mines – 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1
Gary Numan/Robert Palmer – I Dream of Wires – Telekon/Clues (mashed up live)
Devo – Jocko Homo – Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!
Devo – Jocko Homo – EZ Listening Cassette
Boomtown Rats – Whitehall 1212 – V Deep
Peter Hammill – Now More Than Ever – Patience
Peter Gabriel – Games Without Frontiers – Peter Gabriel 3
The Residents – Easter Woman/Perfect Love/Picnic Boy – Commercial Album
Sly & Robbie – Syncopation – Syncopation
Kraftwerk – Pocket Calculator – Computer World
Nina Hagen – Kozma Shiva – Nunsexmonkrock
XTC – Respectable Street – Black Sea
Pete Seeger/Morgan Fisher – Overture from Beethoven’s 9th – Miniatures

More comments below the fold

I was a few years from discovering Punk and still a long way from really weird music. I stumbled onto KBOO one night and heard some strange songs on a show called Stranger Than Fiction:

…the discovery of KBOO’s Stranger than Fiction completely opened the door to new, exciting music for me, and I’ve never looked back. The hosts of STF – the enigmatic Mr. B and Equinox – played a combination of New Wave, skinny-tie pop, novelty music (Barnes and Barnes, Bonzo Dog Band, etc.) and lots of acts that straddled Prog and Post-Punk (Gabriel, Fripp, Hammill). Thier show was like a complete education in alternative music and it really saved me in those lost years of being a weird, alien-feeling teenager, even if it meant that my friends would never let me play my mix-tapes at parties.

Blame it on Devo. I saw them on SNL and I was looking for stuff as exciting and weird as they were. In that pre-internet era, you only heard rumors of interesting stuff or read about it in some magazine. If you lived in a podunk area like Vancouver Washington, you had an even harder time even seeing any of these band’s records or knowing anyone you could talk to about it. So I’d tape the latest episode of Stranger Than Fiction. If there was anything cool on the tape, I’d dub those songs onto another cassette and pretty soon I had some interesting mix tapes.

This show is a recreation of some of the songs that either blew my mind when I first heard them or grew on me in subsequent listens on the mix tapes. It’s not necessarily my ‘top twenty’ or whatever. Just some songs that warped my brain and will probably still be stuck in there when they shovel dirt over my box.

One comment

  1. This is such a great idea for a post! I had a very similar exposure to new wave/strange/punk music via New Orleans’ WTUL radio and of course, very early MTV.

    I liked a lot of this stuff, too. I am always quick to defend the ’80s precisely because of music like this.



Leave a Reply

