Don Joyce – 1944 – 2015

negativland_bagdad13

11754933_10153467985719719_5315401852512602763_o

11755737_10153467985684719_9167722583467187548_n11794422_10153467985704719_2787612634165761644_o

As you may have read, we lost Negativland member and Over the Edge host Don Joyce on 7/22.

He left behind a huge body of work.

Don joined Negativland and contributed the group’s signature cut-up, brain-frazzle style and added the term ‘culture jamming’ to the surrealist lexicon. Thursday evening, Radio Lost and Found and a host of hosts pay tribute to Don Joyce and Negativland. In attendance, Dr. Zomb of Dr. Zomb’s Stereo Obscura, Daniel of The Outside World, Brian of Vinyl Pajama Party and No Soap Radio‘s Jim Larrance and King Fader Jay Bozich brought a rare Negativland performance cassette tape. We also had calling in, regular OTE caller Suicide Man on the line, as well as Mr. Space and a mystery booper.

I hope we did him justice. The thought of no more OTE is unfathomable.

On a personal note, I’d like to add, meeting the members of Negativland and working with them on the radio (I produced the KBOO broadcast of their 2014 appearance at The Crystal Ballroom) has been one of the highlights of my creative (non) career and getting to chat with Don in the flesh was an immense honor.

Over the years, I have been sending him raw material via the mail. It was gratifying when I’d hear something appear on OTE that I had sent him. One day, out of the blue, he sent me a nice postcard along with a few Seeland releases.

But my favorite Don moment was when I excitedly emailed him to tell him that I was finally getting my own radio show and he replied with ‘be careful not to bump your nose on the microphone‘.
I now tell that to any new DJs I meet or help train at the station.
I can’t tell you how influential both Negativland and Don/OTE are on my radio (D)programming style. Some of my earliest shows are embarrassingly telling of Don’s influence.
I know Don was a ‘devout’ atheist, and yet, I feel compelled to say rest in peace. We have lost a great surrealist, a courageous realist – but what a body of work.. I offer a photo I took of Don, Mark and Peter in Portland in 2007. I think it captures the band’s dynamic and Don’s demented genius well. Peace also to all who knew done more closely.

Peter Conheim, Mark Hosler, Don Joyce, Bagdad Theater, Portland OR
Peter Conheim, Mark Hosler, Don Joyce, Bagdad Theater, It’s All In Your Head Tour, Portland OR

But on to the show…

We didn’t write anything down that we played but you can sort of figure it out from our attempts to back-announce it all. I DO remember that we played three copies of A Big 10-8 Place simultaneously, both Zomb and I brought some rare tracks from compilations and cassettes and King Fader brought that rare tape recorded at The Blue Gallery in Portland from sometime in the early 90s.

So long, Don. We won’t say hello – but it’s awfully hard to say goodbye..

Play


Download

3 Comments

Leave a comment